Dancers in class
Preservation of Our Heritage

1999 marked the inaugural presentation of the Preservation of our Heritage-American Dance Award. Oklahoma City University's Ann Lacy School of American Dance and Arts Management continues the recognition of those who have nurtured and supported American dance through their advocacy. Without these writers, historians, and champions, the world would be less aware of the uniquely American dance forms and the artists who created, developed, and evolved them. It is through the diligence and dedication of these committed supporters that American dance remains in the hearts and minds of the American public and the world.

Preservation of our Heritage Honorees

1999 - Melba Huber
1999 - Sali Ann Kriegsman
2000 - Robert L. Reed
2000 - Jacqui Malone
2001 - Al Heyward
2001 - Carl Schlesinger
2002 - Art & Nancy Stone
2003 - K.C. Patrick
2006 - Patricia Goulding
2008 - Lee Allen Smith
2008 - Blake Wade
2009 - Avi Miller
2009 - Ofer Ben
2009 - Germain Salsbeg