Members of OCU's faculty and staff meet in a boardroom.
2014 Outstanding Faculty Award

Professor David SteffensDr. David Steffens
Outstanding Faculty Award
Wanda Bass School of Music

The Percussion Ensemble class was recently surprised with a visit from university president, Robert Henry, provost, Susan Barber, Bass School of Music’s Dean Parker and Associate Dean Belcik, and a group of others who followed along to celebrate the presentation of Oklahoma City University’s highest teaching honor, the Outstanding Faculty Award, to Dr. Steffens.

In addition to directing the percussion program at the Bass School since 1997, Steffens is principal percussionist with the Oklahoma City Philharmonic, a recording artist, clinician, educator, and champion of new music.

As a founding member of the Robert Hohner Percussion Ensemble, Steffens is featured on four internationally released CDs on the DMP recording label and has recorded on Albany Records. In 2005, Steffens recorded Lost Luggage, a five-movement work for solo marimba he commissioned from composer Edward Knight. Steffens has performed with the Midland Symphony, West Shore Symphony Orchestra, Greater Lansing Symphony, Lawton Philharmonic Orchestra, and Schlossfestspiele in Heidelberg, Germany. He is a frequent guest artist and has presented master classes and percussion clinics on campuses nationwide.

Under Steffens’ leadership, Oklahoma City University’s Percussion Ensemble has performed works ranging from a Red Norvo tribute in Austin to a regional premiere of Stravinsky’s Les Noces to a Maslanka work at the national convention of the Society of Composers, Inc. Steffens has built collaborative partnerships with local artists, which have led to Ensemble appearances with Canterbury Choral Society and Ballet Oklahoma.

He received his Performer’s Certificate and D.M.A. from Eastman School of Music at the University of Rochester. He is a faculty member at the Oklahoma Arts Institute at Quartz Mountain and has taught at Michigan State University, Central Michigan University, and the Eastman School of Music. He is president of the Oklahoma Chapter of the Percussive Arts Society, and he is an artist/clinician for Yamaha Percussion, Black Swamp Percussion, Bosphorus Cymbals, and Vic Firth Mallets.


Faculty Awards

Outstanding Faculty Award
Each year, the Outstanding Faculty Award Committee calls on the student body, staff, and faculty for nominations of faculty members whose teaching, scholarship, and service to the university and professional community are deemed to be exemplary. It celebrates outstanding performance in all areas of academic pursuit and acknowledges special achievement in the endeavor of teaching. The past five winners of the Outstanding Faculty Award comprise the current selection committee.

Over the last few years, recipients have received news of their award in the form of a surprise classroom visit by the award committee, along with President Robert Henry and Provost Susan Barber. The award recipient receives a stipend and recognition at undergraduate commencement, and an invitation is extended to the recipient to deliver the commencement address at graduate commencement.

CETL Awards
The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning recognizes OCU faculty members' outstanding achievements in specific areas of academic work. The Center has developed five awards which are presented at a luncheon each spring.

Award Nomination Process
Nominations for the Outstanding Faculty Award must be received by the Outstanding Faculty Award Selection Committee no later than December 1.
Revised Protocol for Award Selection

CETL award nominations must be received no later than January 25.
CETL Faculty Award Nomination Information

History of Awards
Teaching awards have been presented to OCU faculty since 1988. The Fred Jones Foundation funded the awards from 1988 to 1990, and the Sears Roebuck Foundation funded awards in 1990 and 1991. The General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church expressed support and appreciation of teaching at OCU through their Exemplary Teacher Awards from 1992 through 2002, and continued support in conjunction with the Outstanding Faculty Award from 2003 to the present.

2013 Edward Knight
2012 Paula Dalley
2011 Jonathan Willner
2010 Elaine Smokewood
2009 Jacci Rodgers
2008 Amy Cataldi
2007 Art LeFrancois
2006 John Starkey
2005 Terry Conley
2004 Andrea West
2003 Dilin Liu

Exemplary Teacher Award
2002 Lloyd Musselman
2001 Denise Burton
2000 Melanie Shelley
1999 Randy Kluver
1998 Amy Oden
1997 Billie McElroy
1996 Jo Rowan
1995 Hossein Shafa
1994 Donna Dykes
1993 Dennis Jowaisas
1992 Susan Barber

Fred Jones Excellence in Teaching Award
1990 Dennis Arrow
1989 Fred Ramos
1989 Sandy Martin
1988 Klaus Rossberg
1988 Cathy Kass

Sears Roebuck Foundation Award
1991 Larry Cobb
1990 Lloyd Musselman