The Wanda L. Bass Music Center on the OCU Campus

Symphony OrchestraThe Oklahoma City University Symphony Orchestra is a student ensemble composed of music and non-music majors, graduates and undergraduates.The more than 90 musicians in the ensemble are selected based on an audition process. The Symphony Orchestra has been honored by ASCAP with the Adventurous Programming Award and in 2004, represented the United States at the “Meet in Beijing” arts festival. The Symphony Orchestra was also the honor group at the 2009 OMEA State Convention.

The Symphony Orchestra gives numerous concerts a year, performing a wide range of standard orchestral repertoire and maintaining a commitment to performing and promoting new music. The Symphony Orchestra also serves as the basis for the pit orchestras in the Opera & Music Theater productions, as well as the orchestra for the annual Christmas Vespers at Oklahoma City University. Students receive vast experience and training through rehearsals, both full and sectional, two-to-three times a week. The experience students gain here plays a significant role in developing and preparing them to be professional musicians.

  • Dr. Eric Garcia, Music Director/Conductor

All concerts begin at 8:00 p.m. in Petree Recital Hall.
Pre-concert talks begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Bass Atrium.

Concert 1 – Saturday, September 27, 2014

Sokol Fanfare – Leos Janácek

Overture to I Vespri Siciliani – Giuseppe Verdi

“Polonaise” from Eugene Onegin – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

            Erin Hanson, graduate conductor

Scherzo capriccioso, Op. 66 – Antonín Dvorák


Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92 – Ludwig van Beethoven

               I.           Poco sostenuto – Vivace

             II.           Allegretto

           III.           Presto – Assai meno presto (trio)

           IV.           Allegro con brio

Concert 2 – Saturday, November 22, 2014

Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 21 – Felix Mendelssohn

Danses sacrée et profane – Claude Debussy

            Urszula Rucka, harp

“Bacchanale” from Samson et Delila – Camile Saint-Saëns

            Brandon McNeal, graduate conductor


Salome’s Dance from Salome – Richard Strauss

Suite from Der Rosenkavalier – Richard Strauss

            Regina Grimaldi, Marschallin

            Kelly Holst, Sophie

            Catherine McDaniel, Octavian

Concert 3 – Saturday, February 21, 2015

Windows to the West (2014) – Edward Knight


Pictures at an Exhibition – Modest Mussorgsky/Arr. Ravel

Concert 4 – Saturday, April 11, 2015

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice – Paul Dukas

Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33 – Camille Saint-Saëns

               I.           Allegro non troppo

            José Palacios, cello


Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 43 – Jean Sibelius

               I.           Allegretto

             II.           Tempo andante, ma rubato

           III.           Vivacissimo

           IV.           Finale. Allegro moderato