Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

Book Discussions Focus Investigation on Oklahoma

The next Let’s Talk About It, Oklahoma book discussion series starting this fall at Oklahoma City University will investigate crime novels that take place in Oklahoma. The first book, “The Old Buzzard Had It Coming” by Donis Casey, will be discussed at 7 p.m. Sept. 9 in Walker Center room 151.

The discussion series is made possible through a grant from the Oklahoma Humanities Council.

At each session in the five-part series, a humanities scholar makes a presentation on the book in the context of the theme. Small group discussions follow with experienced discussion leaders. At the end, all participants come together for a brief wrap-up.

Those who are interested in participating are encouraged to preregister and borrow the reading selections and theme brochure by calling Harbour Winn at (405) 208-5472, e-mailing him at or dropping by the Dulaney-Browne Library room 211 or 207.

Winn, director of the Center for Interpersonal Study through Film & Literature at OCU, said the series will move beyond discussions of the story plotlines and into a cultural study of the places where the stories take place.

“Mystery and investigation stories find a ready home in Oklahoma and provide a window on the character of the state,” Winn said.  “Though mainstream novels may evoke only scant physical description, crime stories and mysteries continue to include realistic location details, precisely because such details may help unravel the crime. In reading these novels, we can rediscover the joys of hearing and seeing people in their natural environment and learn something about how where they are may indicate who they are.”

In the book “The Old Buzzard Had It Coming,” a housewife and mother of a large family investigates the murder of a neighbor. The mother’s teen daughter is involved romantically with the boy who is suspected of killing his father.

The richness of the novel comes from the individualized portraits of families and their daily lives, which continue on while a mother seizes what time she can to learn more, ever mindful that she, too, must continue to live with the folks in the community after her sleuthing is concluded.

As of late 2012, the author has extended Alafair Tucker’s investigations into six novels, all praised by book critics.

Other dates and books in the series include:

Sept. 23 — “Letter from Home” by Carolyn Hart

Oct. 7 — “Capitol Offense” by William Bernhardt

Oct. 28 — “Twisted Perception” by Bob Avey

Nov. 11 — “The American Café” by Sara Sue Hoklotubbe