Skip to main content

Vice President for Diversity & Inclusion Search

Oklahoma City University invites applications for the newly created position of Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion. OCU is seeking an established thought leader and subject matter expert prepared to build a sustainable framework to support the multi-faceted work of fostering a welcoming, inclusive, and equitable learning and working community rooted in and consistent with the institution’s core values, mission, and strategic goals. Reporting to the President, the Vice President serves as an integrative member of the campus community who will collaborate with all levels of the university to champion diversity and inclusion across all aspects of the institution.

The Vice President will guide, develop, enhance, and implement diversity and inclusion programming, initiatives, and training as well as provide oversight for university-wide climate assessments, planning processes, academic support services, and curricular and co-curricular/extra-curricular programming. This role will actively seek out and foster community relations with the greater Oklahoma City community while identifying new opportunities to engage and connect with community partners to further institutional objectives.

The successful candidate will possess demonstrated leadership skills and the ability to serve as an innovator, collaborator, and bridge builder to advance the principles of diversity and inclusion for the institution. They will possess at least a master’s degree in a relevant field and a minimum of seven years of demonstrated success in leading diversity and inclusion initiatives, preferably at an institution of higher education.

Oklahoma City University

Oklahoma City University was founded in 1904 and is a coeducational, urban, private university located in the Uptown district of Oklahoma City. The university is affiliated with the United Methodist Church and offers a wide variety of degrees in the liberal arts and sciences disciplines. Oklahoma City University is the only Oklahoma institution listed in the top tier of the regional, master's-level university category by U.S. News and World Report magazine. Oklahoma City University is an equal opportunity employer and affirms the values and goals of diversity and inclusion.

Application

Review of applications begins immediately until a final candidate is selected with priority consideration for applicants who submit application materials by December 13, 2019. It is expected that the successful candidate will assume the position in early spring 2020. Applicants must submit the following materials:

  • A current CV or resume
  • Cover letter describing relevant experience and interest in the position
  • List of three professional references with contact information (references will not be contacted without your express permission)

Applications will be held in strict confidence.

Learn More and Apply Online

OCU Jobs

Search Committee Members

Amy Ayres • Search Co-Chair

Vice President for Student Affairs
aayres@okcu.edu

Bobby "Trae" Trousdale

OCU Student and Student Government Association President
btrousdale@my.okcu.edu

Destini Carrington

OCU Student and Black Student Association President
drcarrington@my.okcu.edu

Jason Flores

Associate Professor of Marketing, Meinders School of Business
njflores@okcu.edu

Jessica Martinez-Brooks

Interim Diversity Advocate
jmartinezbrooks@okcu.edu

Jim Roth

Dean, School of Law
jaroth@okcu.edu

Joey Croslin • Search Co-Chair

Vice President for Human Resources
jcroslin@okcu.edu

LaVetra Stevenson

Residence Hall Director and Staff Council President
ljstevenson@okcu.edu

Rev. David Wilson

OCU Trustee, Superintendent for Oklahoma Indian Missionary Conference of the United Methodist Church
dwilson@oimc.org

Rev. Elizabeth Horton-Ware

Director for Student Religious Life
erhortonware@okcu.edu

Salvador Ontiveros

Director of Finance and HR, Oklahoma Contemporary Arts Center and Alumnus
sontiveros@okcontemp.org

Shanna Pope

Registrar, School of Law
spope@okcu.edu

Shannon Roesler

Professor of Law
sroesler@okcu.edu

Stephanie Hudson

Executive Director, Oklahoma Indian Legal Services and Alumna
hudson@oilsonline.org

Confidentiality Agreement for Search Committee Members

View (pdf)