Skip to main content

High School Film Festival

2018 High School Film Festival postcard.

2018 High School Film Festival Winners

Thank you to everyone who participated in this year’s High School Film Festival. We had a great turnout for the event at The Venue in the Plaza District with almost all the selected filmmakers in attendance.

Special thanks to Nathan and Angela Gardocki who generously donated the $500 cash prize for the Jury Prize. An Audience Award was also presented and sponsored by deadCenter Film Festival. Each student with a film selected for the festival was also awarded an annual $5000 scholarship for study at Oklahoma City University (for a total of $20,000!)

Information about next year's festival will be available near the beginning of the 2018-19 academic year.

Films included in the 2018 festival reel are listed below:

Jury Prize
The Night I Lost My Favorite Jacket
Jenna Krumerman
Greenhill School
Addison, TX

Audience Award
Man and Boy
Scott Larson & Boris Vesselinov
Plano West HS
Plano, TX

Additional Selections
Just a Snack
Sam Brown
Classen School of Advanced Studies
Oklahoma City, OK

June Turbeville
Greenhill School
Addison, TX

Don’t Care
Becca Berger
Greenhill School
Addison, TX

Adam Mehdi
Greenhill School
Addison, TX

Paper Bag
Brianna McGhee
Broken Arrow HS
Broken Arrow, OK

A Trip to the Fridge
Luke Jacobs
Booker T Washington HS
Dallas, TX

Grace Doyle
Greenhill School
Addison, TX

After Thoughts
Cooper Shapiro
Richardson HS
Richardson, TX

Alisha Nathani
Greenhill School
Addison, TX

Light Police
Kyra Moran
Greenhill School
Addison, TX

Emily McClanahan
David Crockett HS
Austin, TX

After Taste
Emily Ma
The Hockaday School
Dallas, TX

High School Film Festival Entry Information

High school students from Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas are encouraged to submit entries for a film festival scheduled for January 12, 2018, at The Venue in Oklahoma City. Details and guidelines for submissions are listed below.

Top entries will be awarded $5000/year scholarships for OKCU, and one winner will receive a $500 cash prize presented by NGP Films.

  • All genres and forms of moving images may be submitted including narrative, documentary, animation, and experimental.
  • Submissions must have a total running time of 10 minutes or less.
  • All crew members must be currently enrolled in grades 9-12 in Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, or Texas.
  • Send YouTube, Vimeo, or DropBox links to by the December 15, 2017 deadline.

Winners will be screened on January 12, 2018 beginning at 6:30 pm at The Venue, 1757 NW 16th St, Oklahoma City, OK 73106. Award ceremony will immediately follow the screening.

For more information, call 405-208-5226.