Skip to main content

Spring Poet Series

Every spring since 1999, the Thatcher Hoffman Smith Poetry series brings a nationally renowned, award-winning poet to our campus. The event features live readings of their work, book signings, and an open mic sessions for local poets to showcase their talents.

Past Poets

Chris Abani, Jimmy Santiago Baca, Richard Blanco, Jericho Brown, Lucille Clifton, Carolyn Forche’, Mark Doty, Claudia Emerson, Nikky Finney, Andrea Gibson, Terrance Hayes, Marie Howe, Jane Hirshfield, Li-Young Lee, Naomi Shihab Nye, Michael Ondaatje, and Alberto Ríos, as well as Poets Laureate Simon Armitage, Billy Collins, Joy Harjo, Ted Kooser, Robert Pinsky, Charles Simic, Tracy K. Smith, and Natasha Tretheway.

  • Alberto Rios

    Alberto Rios

    2019 Spring Poet

  • Li-Young Lee

    Li-Young Lee

    2004 Spring Poet

  • Joy Harjo

    Joy Harjo

    2007 Spring Poet

  • Robert Pinsky

    Robert Pinsky

    1999 Spring Poet

  • Natasha Trethewey

    Natasha Trethewey

    2010 Spring Poet