Skip to main content

Past Seasons

The Thatcher Hoffman Smith Spring Poetry Series is proud to have hosted major poets for 25 years.

Past poets include winners of National Book Awards, Pulitzer Prizes, Guggenheim Fellows, Academy of American Poets Chancellors, and Poets Laureate of the U.S. or U.K.

Our interviews with some of the previous poets are linked below.

YearPoet Name
2023Jericho Brown & Pádraig Ó Tuama
2022Naomi Shihab Nye
2021Nikky Finney & Clemonce Heard
2019Alberto Rios
2018Chris Abani
2017Simon Armitage *
2016Marie Howe & Andrea Gibson
2015Richard Blanco
2014Tracy K. Smith *
2013Terrance Hayes
2012Claudia Emerson
2011Carolyn Forché
2010Natasha Trethewey *
2009Charles Simic *
2008Jimmy Santiago Baca
2007Joy Harjo *
2006Ted Kooser *
2005Billy Collins * & Lucille Clifton
2004Li Young Lee
2003Naomi Shihab Nye
2002Mark Doty
2001Michael Ondaatje
2000Jane Hirshfield
1999Robert Pinsky *

* denotes a Poet Laureate