Skip to main content

Faculty Awards

About the Faculty Awards

Outstanding Faculty Award

Each year, the Outstanding Faculty Award Committee calls on the student body, staff, and faculty for nominations of faculty members whose teaching, scholarship, and service to the university and professional community are deemed to be exemplary. It celebrates outstanding performance in all areas of academic pursuit and acknowledges special achievement in the endeavor of teaching. The past five winners of the Outstanding Faculty Award comprise the current selection committee.

Over the last few years, recipients have received news of their award in the form of a surprise classroom visit by the award committee, along with President Robert Henry and Provost Kent Buchanan. The award recipient receives a stipend and recognition at undergraduate commencement, and an invitation is extended to the recipient to deliver the commencement address at graduate commencement.

CETL Awards

The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning recognizes OCU faculty members' outstanding achievements in specific areas of academic work. The Center has developed five awards which are presented at a luncheon each spring.

Award Nomination Process

Nominations for the Outstanding Faculty Award must be received by the Outstanding Faculty Award Selection Committee no later than Dec. 1.

Revised Protocol for Award Selection

CETL award nominations must be received no later than Jan. 25.

History of Awards

Teaching awards have been presented to OCU faculty since 1988. The Fred Jones Foundation funded the awards from 1988 to 1990, and the Sears Roebuck Foundation funded awards in 1990 and 1991. The General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church expressed support and appreciation of teaching at OCU through their Exemplary Teacher Awards from 1992 through 2002, and continued support in conjunction with the Outstanding Faculty Award from 2003 to the present.

2023 Tiffany van der Merwe

2022 Dr. James Ma

2021 Marc Blitz

2020 Jeff Cochran

2019 Shannon Roesler

2018 Lisa Wolfe

2017 Melissa Hakman

2016 Stephen Prilliman

2015 Lance Marsh

2014 Dr. David Steffens

2013 Edward Knight

2012 Paula Dalley

2011 Jonathan Willner

2010 Elaine Smokewood

2009 Jacci Rodgers

2008 Amy Cataldi

2007 Art LeFrancois

2006 John Starkey

2005 Terry Conley

2004 Andrea West

2003 Dilin Liu

Exemplary Teacher Award
2002 Lloyd Musselman
2001 Denise Burton
2000 Melanie Shelley
1999 Randy Kluver
1998 Amy Oden
1997 Billie McElroy
1996 Jo Rowan
1995 Hossein Shafa
1994 Donna Dykes
1993 Dennis Jowaisas
1992 Susan Barber

Fred Jones Excellence in Teaching Award
1990 Dennis Arrow
1989 Fred Ramos
1989 Sandy Martin
1988 Klaus Rossberg
1988 Cathy Kass

Sears Roebuck Foundation Award
1991 Larry Cobb
1990 Lloyd Musselman