Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

Sorority Chapter Wins National Award

Gamma Phi Beta’s Beta Omicron chapter at Oklahoma City University was awarded the Mary A. Bingham Award for overall excellence in all areas of collegiate chapter life at their international convention in Denver this past weekend.

Only one chapter is selected for the award each year. Chapter President Brittany Jo Bisel, a mass communications senior, accepted the award on behalf of the chapter.

The Chancellor E. O. Haven Excellence Award was presented to the Beta Omicron for having the highest grade point average for the previous two academic years of all Gamma Phi Beta chapters. It was the second consecutive biennial convention that Beta Omicron earned this distinction. The GPA for the chapter for the spring 2012 semester was 3.717.

Amanda Lee, Beta Omicron member and May 2012 graduate of Oklahoma City University, was selected for the Lillian Thompson Award for outstanding individual contribution to Panhellenic ideals within the inter-fraternal system and the community. Lee served as the Panhellenic president at OCU in 2010 and as Gamma Phi Beta president in 2011.

The Gamma Phi Beta sorority also presented OCU alumna and Tony Award-nominated actress Kelli O’Hara with the Carnation Award during the convention. The award recognizes members whose outstanding achievements in fields outside the sorority have brought them honor or great distinction.

O’Hara, a Broadway, television and film star, has been nominated for four Tony Awards, including three nominations for best leading actress in a musical for her roles in “South Pacific,” “The Pajama Game ” and “Nice Work if You Can Get It.” O’Hara’s second solo album, “Always,” was released in 2012.

“Kelli, with her immense talent, has established herself as one of Broadway’s greatest leading ladies,” said Linda Malony, the sorority’s international president. “Gamma Phi Beta is proud to recognize Kelli’s many outstanding accomplishments in theater, television and film with one of our sorority’s highest honors.”

Since 1974, Gamma Phi Beta has presented the Carnation Award to members who excel in their careers and bring honor to both themselves and the sorority. This year’s other Carnation Award winners include American violin virtuoso Elizabeth Pitcairn, Canadian Olympian Nikola Girke and Alabama Supreme Court Associate Justice Jacquelyn Stuart.

OCU’s Beta Omicron chapter was also recognized in the following categories: recruitment excellence, Panhellenic leadership and healthy lifestyle.

Beta Omicron was established at Oklahoma City University in 1951. Gamma Phi Beta is one of three National Panhellenic Conference sororities active at OCU.