Oklahoma City University | More Class Notes Skip to content

More Class Notes

Young Professionals

Young Professionals Recognized

Several OCU alumni attended and received awards at the Northwest Oklahoma City Chamber’s young professionals network chapter annual banquet. The alumni included: Shea Bracken (JD ’11), Young Professional of the Year nominee; Ben Butler (JD ’14); Cathy Christensen (JD ’86); Terrance Craft (BA ’15); Lori Harless (MS ’15), Young Professional of the Year nominee; Erica Mackey (JD ’14), Horizon Award nominee; Bailey Perkins (BA ’12), Horizon Award winner; and Kendall Sykes (JD ’07). State Rep. Collin Walke (JD ’08), presented the awards.

Building Young Leadership

Several OCU alumni were named to Leadership Oklahoma City’s LOYAL Class XII: Chris Eissenstat, BKD, LLP, senior audit associate (MA Non Profit Leadership ’12); Andrea Fischer, Chesapeake Energy Corporation, corporate finance specialist (BS Entertainment Business ’06); Armand McCoy, Trifecta Communications, director of account service (BA ’10); Kelly Meredith, Oklahoma City University, director for institutional research (BS ’08); Camal Pennington, Oklahoma City American Federation of Teachers, staff attorney/field representative (BA ’10); Kaleb Sharp, Continental Resources Inc, reservoir engineer (MBA ’16); Brian Smith (MA Non Profit Leadership ’14), parish engagement coordinator for Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of Oklahoma City; Marcus Ude, First Mortgage Company, secondary marketing analyst (BSB ’08); Erick Worrell, Staplegun, vice president for development and director of account service (BA ’07); and Monica Ybarra, Phillips Murrah P.C., attorney (JD ’14).

The program is for local adults age 23 through 35 to examine the skills needed to be effective community leaders, participate in a hands-on community service project, and build relationships with established community leaders and organizations.

NextGen Under 30

Nursing professor and alumna Dr. Vanessa Wright and law alumna and alumni relations Director Ally Rodriguez were named to the NextGen Under 30 list by OKnStyle Publishing. Other OCU alumni who were also named to the list include: Krystal Murer (BS ’08), Ande Burchfield (JD ’13), Mike Slack (BA ’07, MA ’12), Lauren Nichols (MA ’13), Josh Attaway (BM ’12), Brian Smith (MA ’14), Sache Primeaux-Shaw (BA ’11), and Hunter Merritt (MBA ’10). NextGen Under 30 “recognizes and encourages the next generation of innovative, creative, and inspiring individuals who push the boundaries in 15 categories of endeavor.” Award winners are selected based on their participation in and contribution to their communities. They are selected by a panel of business and civic leaders.


Vic Albert (JD ’86) joined the new Oklahoma City office of the Ogletree Deakins labor and employment law firm.


Kristin Chenoweth (BM ’91, MM ’93, DHL ’13) sang the national anthem before the NFL season-opening game between the New England Patriots and the Arizona Cardinals.

Eva Jo Sparks (BS ’94) was recognized by Worldwide Branding for excellence in forensic consulting.


Suvir Dhar (JD ’07) was elevated to shareholder for the Simmons Hanly Conroy law firm in Illinois.

Brian C. Beatty (JD ’08) was elected a shareholder of McAfee & Taft, Oklahoma’s largest law firm.

Back to all news
Back to Top