Oklahoma City University | OCU Societies to Award Judy Love with… Skip to content

OCU Societies to Award Judy Love with Lifetime Servant Leadership Award

The Societies of Oklahoma City University will honor Judy Love as the 2021 recipient of the Societies Lifetime Servant Leadership Award at the annual Awards of Excellence luncheon April 22, 2021. This award recognizes a past Societies honoree who is a current member and has shown continued exceptional involvement and service in the nonprofit community and the university.

Love was selected after a unanimous selection committee vote due to her efforts in promoting the university’s and Oklahoma City area’s advancement. Her dedication to OCU is unique; with no personal ties to the university, she stepped into leadership roles simply because of her generous nature. Because of her commitment, Love received an honorary Doctorate of Humanities and Letters from OCU in 2015.

“I have worked alongside Judy in several nonprofit efforts but none dearer to me than OCU,” said fellow OCU Societies member Jane Jayroe Gamble. “She believes in OCU as Oklahoma City’s University and in the students that attend. People don’t always see the work that Judy does, but I hope the results are well known.”

Love has been an avid supporter of OCU for decades and will be honored at April’s luncheon at the Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club. Upon learning of her nomination, she was “floored by the honor and so thankful to her dear friend Jane Jayroe Gamble for the nomination.”

The event, co-chaired by Susan Edwards and Janie Axton, will also honor recipients of the Kirkpatrick–Petree Music and Performing Arts Society Award, Dulaney-Browne Library Society Award, Norick–Hulsey Gallery Society Award, and OCU Distinguished Philanthropist Award.

Gayle Lucas Semtner will receive the Kirkpatrick–Petree Award for her support of agencies with a focus on the arts, education, health and maturing adults’ issues. Matilda Clements, who has been an active community volunteer with Junior League of OKC and the Girl Scouts of Western Oklahoma, will receive the Dulaney-Browne Award. Becky Roten, the Norick–Hulsey Award recipient, has been involved in her community for the last 30 years focusing on serving children to facilitate access to health care and quality educational opportunities.

The final award, the OCU Distinguished Philanthropist Award, will honor Kami Huddleston and Ashley Murphy, the co-founders of Wedlink Media, a print and online wedding media brand. Huddleston and Murphy are proud graduates of OCU and are very active in volunteering with events and fundraising for the university.

The purpose of OCU Societies is to promote higher education and civic leadership by honoring local community leaders and providing financial assistance to the university for academic achievement.

For more information about OCU Societies or sponsoring and attending the 2021 Awards of Excellence Luncheon, please contact Judy Reyes-Henderson at [email protected] or 405-208-5435 or visit okcu.edu/societies.

Back to all news
Back to Top