Oklahoma City University | Sahmaunt Receives OKCU Milhouse Award Skip to content

Sahmaunt Receives OKCU Milhouse Award

Oklahoma City University will present its 2016 Bishop Paul W. Milhouse Award to Joseph “Bud” Sahmaunt on Dec. 9.

The award recognizes lay people who demonstrate outstanding leadership in the community, their United Methodist churches and their annual conferences, and those who advocate for the partnership between OKCU and the United Methodist Church. Past recipients of the award have included Dorothy Graham, Owen & Vivian Wimberly, Bill Junk, Gerald & Jane Jayroe Gamble, Phil & Cathy Busey, Kurt & Cathy Leichter, and Lou Kerr. The award has been presented annually since 1982.

Sahmaunt was selected by the University-Church Relations trustees at their fall meeting because of his many years of service to Oklahoma City University and the Oklahoma Indian Missionary Conference (OIMC). Sahmaunt is an alumnus, former professor, former athletic director and a member of the Oklahoma City University Sports Hall of Fame who has stayed active in the life of the university for many years following his retirement. He is a member of the Kiowa Tribe and was a longtime member of Angie Smith United Methodist Church before moving to Pawhuska where he now resides.

“Bud Sahmaunt is, simply, a living legend. An elder in the great Kiowa Nation, he reflects Kiowa values of spirituality, athletic prowess, and altruism. I cannot think of a more- worthy individual for the Millhouse Award,” said Oklahoma City University President Robert Henry.

While still in Oklahoma City, he enthusiastically assisted with the Native American Society on campus and the annual OKCU Powwow. He also served on the OIMC Committee on Archives and History which oversees the OIMC archives housed at OKCU. In addition to his many awards and honors, Sahmaunt was also inducted into the Kiowa Nation Hall of Fame.

“University-Church Relations is pleased to recognize Bud Sahmaunt for his lifetime of service to OKCU and the church,” said Charles Neff, vice president of university-church relations.

Back to all news
Back to Top