Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

Project 21 Spotlights 8 Student Premieres
Student composers from Russia, Israel, Oklahoma and Texas will premiere eight works Oct. 2 on the opening concert of the season for Project 21: Music for the New Century. Thursday’s concert begins at 8 p.m. in the Medium Rehearsal Hall of the Bass Music Center. Among the works to be performed: a piece for solo flute, an avant-garde electro-acoustic work paired with electric violin and video, a composition for five-member percussion ensemble, and a solo work for marimba. “It’s a little bit of everything, covering a wide range of styles from musical theater to cutting edge,” said Edward Knight, director of composition at the Bass School of Music and founder of Project 21. Sophomore composer Benjamin Adgate will premiere three works for voice and piano: two musical theater songs and an art song based on “Red Sonia” from “Spoon River Anthology.” Jeremiah Downes, Jennifer Heimstra, and Sonya Meter will sing, accompanied by pianists Kayla Masnek and Jill Jantzen. Graduate composer Maria Karpova will premiere the electo-acoustic work “Bees=People=Bees” and “Sound Installation,” featuring Marat Gabdullin on electro violin and accompanied by Russian footage filmed by Karpova and Gabdullin, created into a video story by Alexander Knight. Fellow composition graduate student Ailon Heitner will debut “The Inner Ear,” featuring Hannah Leffler, flute; John Michael Hunt, soprano saxophone; Jason Paige, clarinet; Travis Smith, bassoon; Tim Mills, trombone; Ryan Beach, trumpet; Yulia Luczak, harp; and Dan McPherson and Alex Lofland, percussion. McPherson also will premiere “Two Mazurkas for Marimba” by junior composer Tim Holt. Flutist Ashley Husmann will present the solo work “Plusieurs Cercles” by sophomore Joseph Belle. An excerpt from “Election Day: The Musical” by junior Ben Harrell is slated to be performed by baritone Clayton Brown, accompanied by Danny Gering, piano. Percussionists Dan McPherson, Sarah Neely, Jamie Whitmarsh, Tim Holt, and Jeremy Parr will kick off the evening with an encore performance of Jarrett Maxwell’s “Percussion Ensemble No. 1.”