Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

Neal, Suffridge, Vogel Win Firsts at OCU Theory Conference
A keynote presentation by Dr. Sarah Reichardt on a Shostakovich string quartet, the performance of new OCU-created works, and 44 theory papers highlighted the 2009 Bass School of Music Theory Conference. Kaelyn Neal won first place in the sophomore division with her analysis of Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 8, op. 110, movement III: “Flashbacks and Frenzy.” Erin Hassett’s paper on Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp minor, op. 131, movement VII took second. Third place went to Margaret Dietrich’s work entitled “Bach in the Tropics: Examining the First Movement of Villa-Lobos’s Bachianas Brasilieras No. 5.” Among freshmen, Summer Suffridge was awarded first for her paper on Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time, movement V. Second place went to Kaitlin Stobbe’s paper on Smetana’s String Quartet in E minor. Eddy Streck took third for her analysis of “Splendid Wood,” a marimba ensemble piece by Jenifer Higdon. Sophomore Taylor Vogel won the first Theory Frolic competition by identifying the most triads in 60 seconds without an error. The competition was moderated by Dr. Hidetoshi Fukuchi and Professor Rob Bennett. "The theory faculty were impressed with the quality of freshmen and sophomore papers,” said Dr. Erik Heine, associate professor of music theory and coordinator of the fifth annual conference, held Jan. 20-21.  “This is an opportunity for the OCU students that they cannot get anywhere else, both presenting papers and observing their peers’ presentations.  We greatly appreciate the support of the Bass School's administration for this event.” The two-day conference concluded with a concert in the Atrium of the Bass Music Center, featuring OCU-created music by student composers from three continents, all members of OCU's Project 21: Music for the 21st Century.