Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

Excellence in Teaching Award Winners Announced
OKLAHOMA CITY — Oklahoma City University’s Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning has announced the winners of its annual Excellence in Teaching Awards. Religion professor Dr. John Starkey is this year’s winner of the Excellence in Teaching Award for Full Time Faculty. The award recognizes a full-time faculty member for his or her achievements as a teacher at OCU. The process of selecting the award recipient was initiated by student nominations gathered from an online survey. More than 240 students responded to the invitation via e-mail to participate in the online survey. A committee then gathered additional information from peers and the nominees. “The process of selecting award recipients is faculty driven. This year we’ve added student representation on several of the committees,” said Chris Garrett, director of CETL. “We have a dedicated and talented faculty on our campus, and these awards are an opportunity to recognize the great achievements of our teachers.” The Excellence in Teaching Award for Adjunct Faculty went to Dann May, who teaches in the Wimberly School of Religion. Dr. Jody Horn, sociology and justice studies professor, won the Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning. The award recognizes the excellent scholarship of one of OCU’s faculty whose research has focused on their own teaching practices and exploring ways to enhance learning among their students. The Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Scholarship of Discovery, which recognizes excellence in creative or disciplinary research scholarship produced by an OCU faculty member, went to mathematics professor Ismail Kombe. Dr. Jonathan Willner, economics professor, won the Undergraduate Student Research Award for Faculty. This award recognizes a faculty member’s efforts toward promoting and encouraging undergraduate student research at OCU. CETL also recognized its 2009 Fellows of the Faculty Teaching Academy. The academy includes: Carolyn Weber, accounting; Dr. Don Skinner-Noble, biology; Dr. Linda Cook, nursing; Denise Burton, nursing; Jacci Rodgers, accounting; Dr. Klaus Rossberg, physics; Dr. Jim Buss, history; Dr. Betty Gorrell, nursing; Linda Wisener, nursing; Brenda Holleman, music; Dann May, religion; Dr. David May, economics; Dr. Dennis Jowaisas, psychology; Dr. Susan Barnes, nursing and Lisa DeSpain, nursing. The 15 OCU faculty members completed the FTA Fellows Certificate Program. There are three major requirement components to the program: Attendance at CETL workshops on teaching and learning (at least seven), participation in either a faculty learning community or completing a teaching partnership and receiving training on teaching portfolios and completing a teaching portfolio. The award winners were recognized April 3 during the OCU Faculty Awards Luncheon with guest speaker Randy Bass of Georgetown University. Bass is an author and editor of several books relating to innovative teaching theories and is the assistant provost for Teaching and Learning Initiatives at Georgetown University. Bass has spent 20 years researching new media technologies and how they can be used in teaching and learning.