Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

OCU Singers Win at Oklahoma NATS
Oklahoma City University singers won four first places and OCUís first-year women dominated their category at the 2009 Oklahoma National Association of Teachers of Singing competition. Katharine Fantegrossi, from the studio of Dr. William Christensen, won first place among freshman women. Lindsey Prowse, from the studio of Professor Florence Birdwell, took second in the division; Lauren Westlake, also from the Christensen studio, finished third. OCU finalists in the category were Grayson Heyl (Christensen); Emily Dimmitt and Kyrie Laybourn, from the studio of Professor Becky Salter; Hilary Sheehan and Hannah Rable, from the studio of Professor Vicky Kelly; Marlen Nahhas and Ellyn Glasscock from the studio of Dr. Frank Ragsdale; and Caitlinn Wees (Birdwell). Other winners included Deonna Cattledge (Birdwell), first place adult; Kirsten Mikkelsen (Christensen), first place sophomore women; and Chris Cowan (Christensen), first place in the Young Men II division. Also placing were Bridget Skaggs (Birdwell), second place junior women, and Ryan Flesher (Christensen), third place Young Men II. Additional finalists were Max Randa (Salter), freshmen men; and Annalise Freeman and Anna Price (Christensen), sophomore women. For more information about vocal programs at the Bass School of Music at Oklahoma City University, visit