Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

OCU American Indian and Clara Luper Scholars Announced
Oklahoma City University has announced this year’s recipients of the American Indian and Clara Luper scholarships. The scholarships will apply to the 2009-10 academic year. Clint Normore, OCU’s director of Multicultural Student Affairs, said the two scholarship programs represent the university’s ongoing mission to reflect the Oklahoma City community and provide opportunity for a quality education. “This year’s class of American Indian and Clara Luper scholarship recipients were selected from a process that started with approximately 300 applications and had approximately 90 prospective student interviews,” Normore said. “The application and interview pools were extremely competitive. This cohort has the strongest ACT and grade point average that we have seen. “Our students’ success has been their academic achievement and their engagement in campus life. I look forward to the contributions our newest class of scholars will bring.” The annual retention rate for the scholars is more than 90 percent. These students provide thousands of community service hours annually throughout the city and state. The American Indian Scholarship Program at OCU is entering its fifth year. Students are eligible for up to eight consecutive semesters provided they maintain a level of good standing with the university and complete specified program requirements each semester. Selected students participate in scholarship program activities that serve their personal development, promote the culture and heritage of American Indians, and forward OCU’s mission to provide effective servant leaders. Applicants must: • Enter OCU as first-time freshmen during the fall semester immediately following high school graduation • Meet the university’s regular admission standards – 22 ACT, 1020 SAT, or 3.0 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) and ranking in the top half of their high school graduating class. • Provide proof of membership in a federally recognized tribe. The scholarships are sponsored by the Chickasaw Nation and the Wesley United Methodist Church. The Clara Luper Scholarship promotes the United Methodist tradition of education. The targeted approach provides OCU with 30 students each year, five of whom are selected as Devon scholars. After all available state and federal aid or other scholarships have been applied, the Clara Luper Scholarship pays the remaining balance for tuition, fees, room, and board; provides a $200 per semester book allowance from the Clara Luper Book Library and provides support services dedicated to the growth, welfare and success of each student. Students are eligible for up to eight consecutive semesters of the scholarship provided they maintain a level of good standing with the university and complete program requirements each semester. The winners of the American Indian Scholarship and their graduating high schools are: Corey Belvin, Sante Fe South, Edmond Stephanie Black, Mustang Patricia Cornish, Latta, Ada Jonathan Daugherty, Mannford Tayler Galey, Norman North, Norman Casey Hawkins, Mount St. Mary, OKC Holly Paden, Apache Meredith Glover, Mustang James Biscone, Mount St. Mary, OKC Taylor Howard, Ada Jacob Tsotigh III, Norman Victoria Korrect, Putnam City West, OKC Jennifer Lawson, Deer Creek, Edmond Keisha Worley, Stillwell Thomas Greenlee, Norman The winners of the Clara Luper Scholarship are: Isaiah Calhoun, Del City Ismail Calhoun, Del City James Campbell, Del City Jessica Turner, Del City Anabel Munoz, Harding Charter Preparatory, OKC Tiffany Johnson, Harding Charter Preparatory, OKC Kimberly Douglas, home school, OKC Harmonniey Cheadle, Midwest City Aazeen Imran, Midwest City Anakaren Aguilar, Mount St. Mary, OKC Vanessa Richartz, Norman Kathryn Alsup, Northeast Academy, OKC German Martinez, Pathways Middle College HS, OKC Anita Nguyen, Putnam City North, OKC Kristen Clark, Putnam City North, OKC Luisa Medina, Southeast, OKC Elena Ojeda, Southeast, OKC Danny Phan, U.S. Grant, OKC Alisha Jenkins, Western Heights, OKC April Zamora, Western Heights, OKC Heather Habekott, Woodward Nhu Tran, Sante Fe South, OKC Joshua Stewart, Midwest City Kameron Uzoma, Northeast Academy, OKC Monica Carranza, Sante Fe South, OKC Lena Khader, U.S. Grant, OKC Raul Jaimes, Westmoore, OKC Alejandra Campos, Northwest Classen, OKC Emma Velez, Little Axe, Norman Danielle Derr, Mount St. Mary, OKC