Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

Title Track on Bryan White CD Features OCU String Players
Performances by musicians from Oklahoma City University are featured in the title track of “Dustbowl Dreams,” the latest album from Bryan White. Students from the Bass School of Music at OCU credited in the CD’s liner notes include OCU Symphony Orchestra members Hope Lanctot, Daniel Gering, Jill Jantzen, Kari Daugherty, Marat Gabdullin, Angelica Hilst, Lauren Tomlin, and Corie Melaugh on violin; Kasey Yeargain, Colin Waddell, Ruben Gil, and Aaron Bushong on viola; and Alejandro Acosta, Pola Benke, Katlin Johnson, and Josh Klossner. The title track’s string arrangement was created by Rick McKee ’09, under the supervision of Dr. Edward Knight, and conducted by Benjamin Nilles. “The song 'Dustbowl Dreams' was inspired by my pride as an Oklahoman, my fascination with my lineage and history, and identifying with the grit, soul, and spirit of Oklahomans, especially during the Great American Dustbowl,” White said. “I love to think of myself as a product of their perseverance. Dustbowl Dreams is, in essence, the American dream.” White has charted 17 singles on the Billboard country charts, four of which reached Number One: "Someone Else's Star" in 1995; "Rebecca Lynn" and "So Much for Pretending," both in 1996; and "Sittin' on Go" in 1997. He was also a duet partner on the album version of Shania Twain's 1998 single "From This Moment On", which peaked at number four on the Billboard Hot 100. Overall, he has recorded four studio albums, a Greatest Hits package, and three EPs.