Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

2010 OMEA Convention Features OCU Instrumentalists
Frank Battisti, conductor emeritus of the New England Conservatory Wind Ensemble and past president of the U.S. College Band Directors National Association, conducted Oklahoma City University musicians selected for the 2010 Oklahoma Music Educators Association Intercollegiate Band. The all-state honor ensemble performed Jan. 20-21 at the OMEA convention in Tulsa. Representing OCU: Jenna Johnson, flute; Benjamin Killebrew, oboe; Lisa Holllowell, clarinet; Zack Tijerina, bassoon; Ryan Beach, trumpet; Natalie Philips, horn; Bill Bohn, tuba; and Jamie Whitmarsh, percussion. Hollowell, Phillips and Beach were chosen as principals through behind-the-screen auditions. Battisti conducted the Intercollegiate Band in “Canzona,” by Peter Mennin; “Pentium,” by Peter Graham; "Perthshire Majesty" by Samuel Hazo; “Sleep,” by Eric Whitacre; and Charles Ives’ "Postlude in F" and "Variations on 'America.'" “The concert was SRO,” said Dr. Matthew Mailman, professor of conducting and conductor of the Wind Philharmonic at Oklahoma City University’s Bass School of Music. “Ryan Beach had significant solos on "Variations on 'America'" which drew a lot of positive attention to him, Professor Michael Anderson, and the Bass School.” The OCU Woodwind Quintet, under the direction of Dr. Stacey DiPaolo, performed at a reception for OMEA honorees. The program included Malcolm Arnold's "Three Shanties," Hindemith's "Quintet," and Ibert's "Three Brief Pieces." The quintet is comprised of Thomas Hamilton, flute; William Smith, oboe; Lisa Hollowell, clarinet; Zach Tijerina, bassoon; and Stephanie Karlak, horn.