Press Room  

Oklahoma City University: News

Search Press Releases

OCU Plans Governor’s Energy Conference

OKLAHOMA CITY – Gov. Mary Fallin and about a dozen local and national energy leaders will discuss the future of energy in Oklahoma during the 2011 Governor’s Energy Conference presented by Oklahoma City University’s Meinders School of Business Nov. 9 at the Cox Business Services Center. The conference will address topics such as new technologies, natural gas supplies, infrastructure issues, energy policy, environmental implications, and details on Oklahoma’s natural gas, renewable energy and smart grid developments.

The daylong event begins at 8 a.m. and features Gov. Fallin, Steven C. Agee, John Curtis, Peter Delaney, Robert Henry, Melanie Kenderdine, Aubrey McClendon, C. Michael Ming, Ernest Moniz, John Richels and Stuart Solomon. The conference is sponsored by the Karl F. and June S. Martin Family Foundation and the Office of the Oklahoma Secretary of Energy. The morning sessions will consist of presentations on natural gas technology, resource estimates, energy infrastructure and policy both locally and nationally. Dr. Moniz will provide the luncheon keynote address followed by an afternoon CEO panel conducted as a fireside chat.

Governor Mary Fallin served two terms in the Oklahoma House of Representatives, served as lieutenant governor for 12 years and was elected to the United States Congress in 2006. While in Congress, Fallin worked directly on energy issues as a member of the Natural Resources committee. In 2010 she was elected Oklahoma’s first woman governor.

Agee is the interim dean of OCU’s Meinders School of Business. He has served as a visiting professor of economics and director of the Economic Research and Policy Institute at OCU. He joined the Oklahoma City Branch Board of the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City in 2006 and was named chairman of the board in 2009, 2010 and 2011. Agee is president and COO of Agee Energy LLC, located in downtown Oklahoma City. Prior to leading Agee Energy, he was president and COO for Lee and Agee Inc. and XAE Corporation.

Curtis is a professor of geology and geological engineering at the Colorado School of Mines and he serves as director of the Petroleum Exploration and Production Center and the Potential Gas Agency at the school. Curtis, who has 15 years of experience in the petroleum industry with Texaco, SAIC, Columbia Gas and Brown and Ruth Laboratories/Baker-Hughes, also co-directs the CSM Unconventional Natural Gas Institute.  He serves on and has chaired several professional society and natural gas industry committees including the Supply Panel, Research Coordination Council and the Science and Technology Committee of the Gas Technology Institute. He is an associate editor of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists Bulletin and The Mountain Geologist.

Delaney is chairman and CEO of OGE Energy Corporation and Enogex. Delaney spent 15 years as an investment banker on Wall Street and specializes in corporate finance and other advisory services to electric and natural gas utilities in the U.S., Europe and South America. He is actively involved as a member of several community and industry boards of directors including the Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce, the Oklahoma City Museum of Art, United Way of Central Oklahoma, Oklahoma City  Boathouse Foundation and Integris Health.

Henry serves as president of Oklahoma City University. During his distinguished career, he has served in each branch of government. He was a member of the Oklahoma House of Representatives, served as attorney general of Oklahoma and most recently served on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit where he became chief judge in 2008. He left a lifetime appointment on the federal bench to become the 17th president of OCU last year. Henry also has served as dean and professor of law at OCU. He serves on the boards of directors for Devon Energy, the Oklahoma Heritage Association and the Oklahoma City Chamber of Commerce.

Kenderdine is the executive director of the MIT Energy Initiative. She is part of a three-person leadership team for the initiative, responsible for its implementation and the development of long-range strategies for its activities, management and growth. Prior to joining MIT, she was vice president of the Gas Technology Institute for Washington operations where she was involved in major initiatives to increase domestic natural gas supply, enhance energy efficiency and security and promote the research needs of the natural gas industry.  She has served in several key posts at the U.S. Department of Energy, including director of the Office of Policy and senior advisor to the secretary.

McClendon has served as chairman of the board and CEO of Chesapeake Energy Corporation  since co-founding the company in 1989. McClendon serves as a director of ProCure Treatment Centers, serves on the advisory board of Eagle Energy Partners and is a member of the board of visitors of the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University.

Ming serves as the Oklahoma secretary of energy. He was appointed by Gov. Mary Fallin in January. Ming formerly served as the president of the Research Partnership to Secure Energy for America and as an independent natural gas producer as a managing member and principal of K. Stewart Energy Group and K. Stewart Petroleum Corporation.  He is an emeritus member and past chairman of the petroleum investments committee at Stanford University.

Moniz is the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics and Engineering Systems, director of the energy initiative and director of the Laboratory for Energy and the Environment at the MIT Department of Physics. He has taught at MIT since 1973 and served as the under secretary of the U.S. Department of Energy from 1997 to 2001. He served as the associate director of science in the Office of Science and Technology Policy in the Executive Office of the President from 1995 to 1997. Moniz’ principal research contributions have been in theoretical nuclear physics and in energy technology and policy studies. He currently serves on President Obama’s Council of Advisors for Science and Technology.

Richels was elected president and CEO of Devon Energy in 2010 and joined the board of directors in 2007. Prior to joining Devon in 1998, Richels served as CFO of Northstar Energy Corporation. He serves as chairman of the Oklahoma City National Memorial, past president of the Oklahoma City Philharmonic and a member of the Board of Trustees of Oklahoma City University and the Oklahoma City Boathouse Foundation.  He also is a director of the Independent Petroleum Association of America.

Solomon is president and chief operating officer for the Public Service Company of Oklahoma. He previously served in a variety of utility management positions in Texas, Ohio and West Virginia.

To register for the conference or for more information, call Melissa Cory at (405) 208-5540 or email